According to this article tweeted by my classmate, there is a class being offered at the University of Pennsylvania (an IVY LEAGUE might I add), that is called “wasting time on the internet”. The professor who teaches this class, Kenneth Goldsmith, is a poet and creative writing professor and teaches it from that angle. In the course description he writes “Could we reconstruct our autobiography using only Facebook? Could we write a great novella by plundering our Twitter feed? Could we reframe the internet as the greatest poem ever written?”

While these are all interesting questions on a course description, I feel like it’s completely ridiculous for this to be offered as a class at an ivy league school. As a student of creative writing I and II, when i’m trying to come up with something to write about all I do is troll the internet and look at random sites. I’m unsure if this class would be teaching you HOW to troll the internet (a skill that is easy to master) or you’d just be watching funny videos the whole time. Either way I’m jealous of the obvious easy a these ivy league students get to take

